Forget that page is a Firefox, Chrome and Opera add-on that allows you to quickly tell the browser to remove traces of the page you are on.

Internet users have a couple of options when it comes to removing traces from the browser. They may use the browser’s own clear history option to remove cookies, cache entries and history entries from the browser, use private browsing mode to block many — but not all — records in first place, or use third-party software like CCleaner regularly for that.

If you happen to stumble upon a site that you want to remove any trace of, you could use the clear browsing history option and remove the last hour of browsing from the records, or go through various settings to clear cookies and stored data manually.

Why you would want to do that you ask? Maybe you don’t want a site to appear in the list of suggestions that are shown when you type in the address bar. Or maybe, you want to make sure that others who may use the device as well don’t see that site when profiles are shared.

Forget that page

forget that page

Forget that page is a simple to use extension. It adds a single icon to the browser’s address bar that you can click on to delete that page from the browsing history.

Doing so removes the browsing history entry, local and session storage entries, and cookies from the current web page.

As you may have noticed already, it is not designed currently to remove all traces of a particular page from the browser. Cookies remain untouched for instance, and if you check the disk cache after clicking on the extension icon, you will notice that cached entries are still there — in Firefox at least, the version tested for this review.

This means that it is not suitable if you want the browser to remove all traces of a visited page. If you are just worried that it might show up in the suggestions, then it is a good enough solution to prevent that.

For instance, you do some gift shopping and want the browser to forget about those pages. You could use the extension for that. It won’t do you any good though if your significant other knows how to check for traces.

Then again, it makes sense to use different profiles on a computer anyway to avoid these situations in first place.

Closing Words

Forget that page is a simple extension that blocks pages from appearing in the suggestions when you start to type in the browser’s address bar.

Firefox users may want to check out Close n’ Forget for the browser which clears more data than Forget that page.

Now You: What do you do when you don’t want traces of a page to appear as records?

About Martin Brinkmann

Martin Brinkmann is a journalist from Germany who founded Ghacks Technology News Back in 2005. He is passionate about all things tech and knows the Internet and computers like the back of his hand.You can follow Martin on Facebook, Twitter or Google+

Source

loading...

LEAVE A REPLY